top of page

Millennials face murderous movie costs


Source: Pexels.com


 

Are we choking for our choc tops?


As I waddled up to the counter with a McDonald's Big Mac Meal stuffed under my shirt, I reached for a twenty dollar note in my pocket.


“Two tickets to Pirates of the Caribbean please” I announced to the Hoyts attendant.

Smirking, she pulled out a loan application.


“Will it be for thirty years?” she asked. Confused, I replied, “No, just for the two-hour session”.


Seemingly unimpressed, the lady filled out the form in a rush and said, “Sign here, repayments can be made monthly.”


Whilst I may have gotten a bit carried away, my sentiment remains true.

No one ever shared with me, the idea of having to deposit money into the Hoyts Trust Fund to see a movie.


Forced to pay exuberant prices, ($21.50 for an adult, $16.00 for a child and

$18.00 for students), even before we sit in our now pre- allocated seats, we are faced with the choice between sitting idly for the next 2 hours without an oversized soft drink and 8-hour old popcorn, or putting a down payment on the unwanted hulk combo.


The last time I experienced this much anxiety was when the last item was about to be scanned by the Coles check-out lady and mum hadn’t returned from the aisle yet.


Do we really deserve this? Whether it be the release of the 90th Harry Potter film or another Liam Neeson action movie, should our wallets really have to quiver in the corners of our pockets so we can capture the essence of ‘art’.


As downloading or ‘torrenting’ is frowned upon or formally known as illegal, we try our best to pay our dues and see movies in person at our local cinema.


To do this though, takes courage. As we’re ranked in the top five of the world’s most expensive movie tickets, we’re forced to deliberate whether we want to eat for the next week, or see the latest rom-com.


So as I embarked on my journey to my seat, (after being kicked out of the unallocated seat I tried to get away with), it crossed my mind that is coming to the movies, really worth it?


Am I that desperate to catch the latest “Fast and For god sake not another sequel”, or would I rather spend roughly a hundred bucks on a good dinner at a restaurant and catch a rerun at home?


The thought flickered in my mind for a second. Competitively the latter seemed cheaper, however not as enticing as venturing out to the movies with a loved one or group of mates.


Whilst Netflix has captured the hearts of many, including my own, there is nothing quite as satisfying than sitting there with my mouth sore from salty popcorn and my feet up on the seat in front of me, encroaching on another’s personal space.


Truly, there really isn’t anything quite like being ripped off from your local cinema.








Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page